Return to Headlines

Timken Alumni Association Announces Award Winners

The Timken High School Alumni Association has selected Darrell Woods (’79), Dan Harold (’80), and Sherm Moreland (’82) as its 2022 Distinguished Alumni. 
Nominees were evaluated in one or more of the following areas: Academia, the Arts, Athletics, Civic Service/Political Leadership, K-12 Education, Entrepreneurship/Business Leadership, Professional Achievement, Vocational Pursuit, and Volunteerism/Philanthropy.  
Darrell Woods is a 1979 graduate of Timken Senior High School.  He earned his bachelor’s degree in 1983 from Walsh College and a master’s degree from the University of Akron in 1985.  Woods was employed as a science/math teacher at St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Jackson High School, and North Canton Hoover High Schoo. He retired after the 2017 school year but has remained “on call” to teach physics, as needed, at several Stark County high schools. Woods was selected as a Walsh College Outstanding Alumnus in 2008, was inducted into the National Teachers Hall of Fame located in Emporia, Kansas in 2010, and was also selected as the Stark County Teacher of the Year in 2017.  
Dan Harold was a 1980 graduate of Timken Senior High School.  He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1984 from Malone College and a master’s degree from Ashland University in 2000.  Harold was employed as a teacher and the head girls’ basketball coach at Central Catholic High School, an Assistant Principal at Louisville High School, the principal at Mason Elementary in the Canton City Schools, and an Associate Principal, Athletic Director, and now, Principal of the combined Lake Middle High School.  Harold was named the Northeast Inland District Coach of the Year by the Associated Press in 1995, received the Sportsmanship, Ethics, and Integrity Award from the OHSAA in 2000, and was also named the District 4 Coach of the Year by the OHSAA on four occasions.  
Sherm Moreland is a 1982 graduate of Timken Senior High School.  He received a Bachelor of Science degree in 1988 and a Bachelor of Architecture degree in 1989 from Kent State University and a Master of Architecture in Urban Design degree in 1991 from the University of Colorado.  He served in various leadership positions in both architecture and planning before landing at DesignGroup in 1998 where he was employed as a Practice Leader through 2007.  In 2008, Moreland was named CEO, the youngest CEO in DesignGroup’s 50-year history.  He has published and presented nationally on topics related to healthcare, lean planning, and organizational thinking.  In 2018 Moreland received the Smart 50 Award that annually recognizes business leaders who have demonstrated commitment and passion for making a noticeable impact on the industries, organizations, and communities where they live and work.
The Distinguished Alumni dinner will be held on September 15, 2022, at Chateau Michelle, with a social hour beginning at 6:00 p.m. and dinner at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are $30 each and payment must be submitted no later than September 15, 2022. To purchase tickets or for further information text (preferable) or phone Bill Trbovich at 330-232-3177 or email at 
* Vaccinations against Covid-19 are required for admission. Vaccination cards (or a photographic image on a cell phone) must be presented for admission to the dinner.